Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

De Muertos

First day of November. First day of my second "Single In" challenge for the Pentax Forums: posting a photo every day taken using the same lens. Once again I'm using my Pentax SMC M 50 mm f/2 manual prime lens. It's a beautiful thing, and through using it every day for almost the entire month I think I've learnt quite a bit about using it. So, another month should get me even more comfortable with it.

I've often but not always used the same photo for the 'Single In' challenge and Blip; today is a day that I have. I was a little early for work so I strolled a little further down Katoomba St, and took a photo past all the shops and such. It was ok, but nothing special. Turned around, back towards the clinic ... that meant I came down Waratah St on the other side of the Rd, and so I noticed this very cool dress in the window of The Great Pretender - a 50s-inspired clothes boutique, I'm told. With a nod to Waipushrink then, I thought I'd do a shop window photograph - mine with half a self-portrait, even. ;-)

Large if you like.

Taken in RAW, processed in Photogene4 on my iPad: a bit of clarity, raised the exposure a touch, warmed up the colour a smidgen, a dab of sharpening and noise reduction, and bit of burning on the sky to finish off.

This evening the kids are going to a Halloween party. They're very excited about the whole Halloween deal, which could rather exacerbate my confirmed Halloween-grinch-ness. However... it's not about me, and what I do or do not like; the kids like it, and are very excited and happy, so it's a good thing, and I am saying nothing otherwise. xP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.