WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Memory and forgetting

It was a grey day today, and my blip mojo needed a kick up the backside. So I decided to use only the 35 mm lens. And headed for the cemetery.

It's very colourful there at this time of year. On 1 November, everyone visits family graves and puts flowers on them, and every village cemetery is spruced up in advance of this. Quite apart from their association with death, I don't like the garish colours of massed michaelmas daisies. Still less the lurid artificial flowers most people put on graves the rest of the year. So while I did photograph those, in the end I preferred this metal wreath in a dark, forgotten corner of the cemetery. No-one had put fresh flowers on this grave. I made it almost-but-not-quite mono, because I like the subdued colours.

Staying on the topic of remembering the dead, this afternoon a local theatre company put on an open dress rehearsal in our village hall of a play about the First World War, so I went along. At first I thought it was going to be dreadful -- an illustrated history lecture -- but it did improve as it progressed, while remaining essentially didactic. It was not worthy to even touch the coat-tails of Le Dandy Manchot's 11 November event though.

Edit: if you want colour, see last year's blip -- one of my favourites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.