WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Industry

Since we work at home, we try to get out and about at weekends. Today we decided to go for a short walk along the Canal du Midi. S picked a spot we hadn't visited before, and in one sense it was a bad choice: they have just felled all the plane trees along this stretch, as part of the campaign to eradicate the fungal disease affecting them (mentioned in a blip the other day). It's a desolate sight, dozens of freshly cut stumps where once there was dappled shade.

We had a coffee in Homps, where we met an English couple who turned out to come from a village in Yorkshire a few miles away from where S was brought up. As we walked back to the car, the light turned golden. I took lots of OK photos, but only a couple really appealed to me. I was torn between this one and a classic reflection in the canal. In the end I picked this because it seemed more me. I like the industrial look of the wine vats and the just-seen brick chimney, contrasting with the rural ambiance. All the elements of wine production are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.