The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Kieran's tree in Park Gardens

Back to work today. So many boys with smart new haircuts! So much to be done, we all jumped straight back into routine. No bells rang all day, so everything over-ran. A section of the garden has been cordoned off owing to an unsafe tree. I hope the (Dominican) Sisters won't try and sort it out themselves! After work the light was coming and going, so I headed off to Park Gardens, so named because the land was donated to Stroud town by one Sidney Park. I thought I might catch a view from there, but the sun was playing peek-a-boo, so I focused on a tree instead, and the houses opposite. They are artisan's dwellings, Victorian, very typical Stroud housing stock. The lower end of Slad Road was badly flooded in 2000, and very seriously in 2007, not once but twice. During the Great Flood in July 07, there was so much water that staff in the Co op shop had to be rescued by the fire brigade, while my doctor's surgery suffered a total immersion. I noticed a plaque at the foot of the tree, and went to investigate. It commemorates "Kieran, who lived, played and worked in this park". 23 years on, his tree is doing well at the corner of Park Gardens. The sun continued to play games, and I went up to the RSPCA charity shop since I was in the area. In there, I found a casette for the car for 50 pence, and got two texts. 1) From Stroud College: We confirm you are working from 4 to 6 on Wednesday 6/11 2) From a client: I can't make my massage today. Can I come on Wednesday instead? Oh, that I could clone myself! Not for the benefit of humanity, since I'm not sure there would be much of that, but just so that I could sidestep these feast/famine situations. After that I went home and finished reading The Pursuit of Love. It's for a course, for next week. Now I have to read the course text for tomorrow, and then start reading The Hero with a Thousand Faces for another course next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.