Bamix – The Housewife’s Magic Wand

You may think that this is a strange thing to blip; a book relating to a Bamix – The Housewife’s Magic Wand. The reason for blipping it? I decided it deserved a place in my history.

Yesterday I gave my ancient Bamix to my daughter who does not have one, but at the time I did not think to give her the book, which was sitting in my cookery book bookcase in the kitchen. The Bamix that this book relates too was purchased for me by my Mum, sometime between 1968 and 1973 which makes it at least forty years old. The purchase price was Fourteen Guineas, which in those days was fourteen pounds and fourteen shillings. Today that would be fourteen pounds and seventy pence and at that time, the wage coming into my home was about £10 per week! The mixer has been used extensively over the years, but a while ago I decided to purchase a new one, although I am not sure now why I felt I needed one. The only difference being that the new one has two speeds; again it is used constantly.

I usually blip a firework on bonfire night, but I have decided that it will be far too cold and damp to stand on my veranda and watch the village firework display. I shall be snuggled up inside with Dougal and Florence, who do not like fireworks. My old lady cat, Splodge, who is no longer with us, always stayed outside and watched them with me. I always feel sorry for all the wild animals, which although the display lasts only about thirty minutes, must be terrified of the noise. Enjoy the fireworks tonight folks and stay safe.

Many thanks to everyone for your kind comments and compliments for my calendar for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.