Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Red Chinese Knot

Today's Colour Challenge colour is scarlet. I've got quite a lot of scarlet red things in the house, most of them of Chinese origin, from our stays in Singapore. Scarlet red is a favourite colour for the Chinese and symbolises luck and good fortune. Knotting with a red thread is an age old Chinese way of making decorations for the house for special occasions like Lunar New Year or for marriages. They still brighten up our house even now we're in Belgium, this one is hanging in my kitchen room/studio, it's about 5 inch in diameter.

In other news I'm all excited because tomorrow weather and other things serving/permitting I'm going to go to the USA for the very first time in my life. Next Blip will probably come from Chicago :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.