MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Woman Labours In Leonard's Lane

Today is the feast day of Leonard, the patron saint of prisoners, criminals, greengrocers and women in labour. I thought I’d see if any local churches are dedicated to him. Sure enough there is a little Norman church in Bengeo, built in 1120. I had a quick look at a map and set out to find it.

I wasn’t having much luck. The people I asked had never heard of it. As I was coming down the hill in Hertford I caught sight of one of those brown signs, with the name of the church on it, pointing down a lane. I drove through a pair of ornate wrought iron gates. The lane was very narrow and strewn with leaves and twigs. I thought it strange that there were no passing places. Hoping that I didn’t meet a vehicle coming the other way, I pressed carefully on. I got some strange looks from pedestrians. The lane was getting narrower so I decided to pull over as best I could and walk. As I was turning the car round with extreme difficulty, a walker told me that I was driving on a public footpath, not even a bridleway and to get out as soon as possible!

As I tried to pull away nothing happened, the wheels were spinning. A rear wheel drive sportscar is not ideally suited for off-road driving. Two women offered to give me a push but luckily I regained traction. What a relief to drive back out through those gates.

I eventually found the church on top of the hill, overlooking the Beane and Lea valley. It has a rounded apse and three foot thick flint and plaster walls. I’m going to come back in decent weather and walk down into Hartham Common, which looks ideal bug hunting territory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.