MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Up An Essex 'Mountain'

The leaves are turning nicely on the grapevine outside my back door so I thought I'd go and get some shots at New Hall vineyard, Purleigh, Essex. Very dull and damp but not actually raining today.

The grape leaves are so vibrant it made up for the lack of sun. I took lots of shots into the rows of vines with Purleigh church in the background. I was considering driving up to it when I saw a St Peter's Way public footpath sign. It was lovely climbing the hill and seeing the view of the Dengie Hundred unfold. Osea island in the River Blackwater can be seen in my pic. Other photographs I took featured Bradwell power station on the skyline. It is the beautiful red and and yellow autumn grape foliage that makes this pic though I think. The red is Pinot Noir, used for sparkling, champagnge style, wines. The yellow is white wine grape Schoenburger.

I went into the church and had a look around and asked a man who was working in the graveyard if there is ever a chance to climb the tower. He said once a year at August bank holiday weekend. I'll have to put the date in my diary. I saw the grave of the the founder of New Hall vineyard, who died last year. What a lovely spot to be buried with one's life's work laid out beautifully below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.