The Last Dandelion

The darkness comes way too early now, but it has been accompanied by some really wonderful cloud shows at day's end, at least on these past few days.

I was watching the sky show on Thursday afternoon as I drove home from work, and the clouds got so amazing that I just had to pull over and take a few pictures. I pulled into the parking lot of a little church on Halfmoon Valley Road, jumped out, and took some photos of the blue and black clouds along the tree line, with the last of the day's sun peeking through.

Then I looked down at my feet, and I spotted this dandelion, its head still round and full of seeds. I took note especially because flowers are getting quite scarce around here, now that it's early November.

There was a nip in the air, and I pulled my coat tight around me. There was a wind at the edges of things making it seem even chillier. Going to be a cold night ahead. I drove through the first of the flurries this morning. Maybe some real snow coming next week. Time to get out a warmer coat, put some gloves in the pockets, maybe a hat.

I got down on the ground (yes, in my work clothes - it's strange how often I do this, but I'm silly that way) and snapped a few pictures of the dandelion with that sky behind it.

And it felt like some kind of an ending. Me, on the ground, shivering. Taking pictures of summer's last dandelion against the cold November sky.

The soundtrack: Bob Seger with the Silver Bullet Band, The Famous Final Scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.