Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

King's Cascade

Grey overcast cold and RAINY day today. Not huge amounts of rain, but a fair bit of drizzle and some actual rain, so I'm pretty happy.

Moar plz nao.

As a consequence however, when this splendid fellow visited there wasn't much light. He flew in, only to find there was no seed left, leaving him perching on the railing looking about aimlessly. I grabbed the box of seed, shook out some into my hand, eased open the fly-screen, and held out my hand to show him what I had. He cocked his head one way and another, clearly looking intently. I then walked over to the railing a bit away from him and laid it down; as I began to move to another bit of railing he was already hopping over to what I'd put down. Hungry lad. ;-) after putting down more and filling the feeder, I popped back inside for my camera. With the Pentax Forums "single in November" challenge in mind I chose the K-30 with manual 50mm - which is, it turns out, quite long enough for birding when the bird lets you crouch then stand within about 3 feet. 8)

Do look larger; despite the less-than-optimal quality, I think it's still worth it.

Later a female and I think a juvenile visited. I rather like this little head tilt as he checked out the food. Then along came another cuckoo-dove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.