David Takes Pictures

By DavidTakesPics

'It's A Bittersweet Symphony, That's Life'

The Verve - Bittersweet Symphony.

11/11 is remembrance day in Britain. A day where we all stand in silence for two minutes with poppies pinned to our collars or breast pockets and remember those that that have fought and offered their lives for this nation.

It's always a day that carries an odd feeling. I'm not particularly close with anyone that fought in either world war but that doesn't mean it isn't a moving day for all of us.

I saw these two old pals sitting on a bench by the river, deep in conversation. My assumption is that were remembering or trading old war stories and paying their respects to their friends who didn't make it.
The truth is that I have no idea what they were talking about and I suppose it's just as possible that where discussing Strictly Come Dancing or something but they were still sat there, locked in conversation, when I walked back past over an hour later.

In any case I thought the image was a nice way to portray the day and what 11/11 means for us in Britain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.