David Takes Pictures

By DavidTakesPics

'Here, There And Everywhere'

The Beatles - Here, There And Everywhere.

The Shard, London's (and indeed Western Europe's) tallest building divides opinion. Some think it's a modern day architectural masterpiece, others think it's a bloody eyesore that ruins London's skyline.
Me? I quite like it. But not for any great appreciation of its design or anything like that. I just really like that you seem to be able to see it everywhere.
If you walk around London it's forever popping up in between gaps in other buildings. You can see it from wonderful and unexpected vantage points. I find that really charming.

It kind of reminds of The Gateway Arch in St Louis. St Louis isn't a tall city in terms of Skyscrapers and The Gateway Arch is a massive steel archway built on the bank of the Mississippi and wherever you are on St Louis you can see it. Like some kind of omnipresent.

I really liked that and The Shard has a similar effect on me. I'm always looking up to see where it will pop up next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.