Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Blood donor week

I had been meaning to go up and give blood for the last couple of weeks as it had been a while since my last visit. I was feeling a bit guilty as I had just been too busy to go. The campaign leading up to this week prompted me to get motivated and get up there. They are having a big drive to recruit new donors and encourage old ones to get out and donate.

I'm glad I went. My blood group is B- and it it one of the rarer ones that they were just about out of apparently. As a result I signed up for their donor 24 programme which allows them to contact me in an emergency and ask me to come in within 24 hours.

I know that many people can't donate for many reasons, however I don't want to sound preachy but if you can and you have just never signed up, or if you are a lapsed donor I'd urge you to get up there and start donating, it's a very worthwhile thing to do, it's relatively painless and you never know when it might be you or someone close to you needing blood.

edit: I meant to add that it's good Karma too. When I got home I phoned the tax office to query the details on my p60 for last year and it turns out I paid almost £950 more than I should have in tax. I've just to get a coupel of forms off to them and in 6-8 weeks I'll get a cheque for the overpayment winging it's way to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.