The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Raspberry blonde

Of all the scrub busting, tussock bashing cows on the Knott, this one is my favourite. Just look at those long eyelashes, and her Sooty ears. Though judging by her poking out her tongue, she is less fond of me than I am of her. She is looking a little tousled, her left ear with a ball of sticky seeds, and a burdock burr in her top knot. The raspberry blowing reminded me of this little fellow.

After the greyness of yesterday (excepting Shap), it was a fine cool day. Gus came to Kendal with me, and we had a walk over the Helm at lunchtime to admire the fell ponies. Rowan, the surrogate sheep, was not available for a lunchtime walk.

For anyone who has missed seeing a photograph of Gus, here he is contre-jour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.