WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Phwoar!

That's what I said when I opened the oven and saw this. It's the most beautiful loaf of bread I've ever made. Look at that oven spring! S was laughing at me because I kept returning to admire it as it was cooling, so how could it not be my blip for today? Compare with my earlier attempt. I ceremoniously cut it open this evening and we had some with dinner -- it tasted as good as it looked. For perfection, the crumb could have been a bit more open, but I'm not complaining. Breakfast tomorrow is assured.

I have taken careful notes of my adjustments every time I've made it, so hopefully I have cracked it now. The key was getting the amount of water right for the type of flour but also, I think, using a smaller cast iron casserole to bake it in than I did last time. I'll have to try again soon, while it's fresh in my mind.

Edit: this day last year, one of my favourite Mystère blips :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.