WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

A smaller splash

My entry for Sarum Stroller's derelict Thursday -- I'm not sure it really qualifies, as the pool is only derelict until next July, when it will be cleaned and filled for my daily bathing pleasure -- sadly, it's only operational in July and August. Today was clement enough that I'd have taken a dip if it had been possible!

Recently Arachne described singing Karl Jenkins' mass The Armed Man. Coincidentally someone forwarded me an email announcing a performance of it by a local choir, so I went along yesterday evening. They're a smallish amateur choir (about 30 singers) composed of members from several European countries. But mostly British, judging by the composition of the almost entirely anglophone, poppy-wearing audience.

They sang very nicely, but when I talked to the conductor afterwards, she said she'd had to adapt it to their capabilities, cutting out several movements, including the call to prayer mentioned by Arachne -- they sang only eight, instead of 13, and had just a piano and a drum rather than a full orchestra. There was a cellist though, much appreciated in the Benedictus. So it was worth going, but I would still like to hear the whole piece with an orchestra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.