WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Dazzle

It was just as well I went out when I did, as the weather deteriorated rapidly during the afternoon. I can so easily lose track of time when I'm wandering around taking photos . Before I knew it, two hours had passed -- admittedly partly because I took a wrong turning on the way home, resulting in an interesting detour. This was one of the first photos I took -- as you can see from the last one in my small set, it had become completely overcast.

The weather was beautiful for the ceremony at the war memorial in the morning. There were more people in attendance than usual, and for the first time in years the children from the primary school sang La Marseillaise. I always feel sorry for anyone who has to sing this unaccompanied; the tune is not easy, and the children had several different ideas of what notes they should be singing, so it was rather painful to the ear :) The words seemed inappropriate too -- singing "Aux armes, citoyens !" immediately after regretting the mass carnage of the First World War feels wrong.

Afterwards we went to commemorate the assassination of Jean Jaurès in the Rue Jean Jaurès, with a speech from M. le Maire, and then for the usual convivial aperitif.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.