Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Trumped by blue...

I've tried, unsuccessfully, to attract nesting Eastern Bluebirds to my yard for the last few years - there is something about them that is just so enchanting. So, when I happen to catch a glimpse of one (or more) in the yard, it's a show-stopper for me. This morning, I was passing through the living room on my way to get some tea when I saw the flash of blue out on the clothesline... Grabbed Big Daddy and crept, in full stealth mode, to the window, scarcely daring to breath. Snapped off a bunch of really horrid shots of him on the clothesline ... I knew without even looking that they were BAD. And then ... be still my greedy heart ... he flew and landed on one of my berry branches on the deck! Snap, snap, snap ... got my shot.

I had to do some serious touch up to this photo - it was taken through the only damned window that I'd not yet gotten around to cleaning, so I had to sharpen and lighten and fiddle with the image. And as many of you know, editing and post production aren't my strong suit. But, I'm happy enough with the image, and it is a perfect reminder of the day for me which is, after all, what this is all about.

Actually, before His Blueness showed up, I was all set to post something in the purple genre or even one of the irrepressible titmouse gang. But blue won the day...

Thanks for the comments on my nutty nuthatch. I'll no doubt be posting more pics of them in the months to come since they are a daily visitor.

Off to have lunch with a colleague.

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.