Transitoire

By Transitoire

Poor Cherub

Every time I go past this sad cherub with its arm sadly missing, I always give a little sigh of sympathy. No idea why, I know that it is strange! To me, it just looks so sad. And it has been like that since before I can remember, I wish I knew why no one fixed it!

The cherubs would normally be holding lanterns which light the covered pedestrian section of Lord Street. Now Lord Street is a strange beast…as Leamington, Southport also boasts that it is their town that is the inspiration behind the newly designed Paris of that time. Who knows, I’m sure whoever designed any of the three places won’t mind too much either way!

Lazy day today, apart from going into town for a little wander the only other thing we did of note was to go out for dinner at our local Indian restaurant. The only BYOB in Southport, it is also one of the best, with speciality regional dishes all cooked from scratch. I really wanted some fish pakora (white fish, with spicy batter), but it had been taken off the menu…but serendipitously, as I was bemoaning the fact that they didn’t have what I had really been looking forward to, the waiter overheard me and said that he’d ask the kitchen to cook it for me. And they did. And it was perfect. As someone for whom anything above a tikka masala is a gamble, I decided to go a little crazy and ask for a curry I had never tried before. And it was really really nice…and I was really glad I decided to give it a try even if at the end I couldn’t eat the sauce on its own because it was hurting my mouth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.