Awwh...Thanks!

Not as wild as you might think and as it shot up my arm playfully, I just couldn't help smiling!

Trotting back to my car mid-afternoon taking a short cut through St Mary's churchyard in the centre of town and spotting the squirrels darting about I hot-footed it back to the car to grab my lens - the wrong one as it turned out! Cautiously walked up, lent against a lamp-post as you might do in this dodgy area of Cheltenham if you were up to no good, and took a few shots.

I was on a path that was on a cut thro' from the High Street and people were passing, all making comments and staring, loving the interaction with the squirrels. One man with a packet of nuts and raisins stared throwing them out for me to get a shot! A tad near with my 100-400mm zoom unfortunately but when I explained, he hand fed them but still a bit close up. Bless him though when he left he said,'Hold out your hands,' and tipped some of the contents of the bag into my palms, 'You've got bait now!' with a smile.

Children were enthralled, parents were fascinated and the squirrels still kept performing for me. Couldn't multi-task really - I've only so many hands and they were far too close to photograph!! When all the treats had gone they still checked me out to just see what was what, by shooting up my arm and sniffing my fingers! Was a brilliant experience. Started to feel a bit like the pigeon lady in Central Park in Home Alone!

Think I might go back here but with a stash of nuts and treats! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.