Adda

By Adda

Forum for street children

today was another edition of SBA - Sunday Breakfast activity conducted by Aashayein ("hopes") foundation. and this time the venue was 'Forum for street children' - an institution taking care of orphans and street children...providing them food, shelter and arranging education for them in government school.

the setup and the environment of today's venue was a tad different from last time. here the kids were reluctant in the beginning to mix freely with the volunteers...some of the elder ones (read teenagers) did have a hint of attitude and an air about them. slowly the ice was broken and the kids started smiling, laughing and conversing us...once the camera was out and they saw a few photos on the LCD, everyone started thronging me and farside for pictures. some of the kids did put up a show of their dancing skills...it was very, what we call in this side of the world, filmy :)

though I shouldn't, still I naturally am trying to draw some comparisons between the this and the other one we visited 2 weeks ago. the other home for the young girls was more organized, clean and vibrant with the spirit of the young girls. I think it is because of the difference between girls and boys.

the working Saturday, lack of sleep last night and the outing today had a toll on me and I was pretty tired when I got back home. as ViewNX was converting the raw images into jpeg, I didnt realize when I collapsed into a deep slumber. I was woken up, momentarily by a text message from farside and then later by a phone call from someone at work...badly needed some sleep!

Got the pictures from the last visit printed. will have to figure out a time to go and give them to the girls.

a few more selected ones from today...

1
2
3
4
5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.