High Rombalds

Thanks so much for the lovely comments on the shot from last night. It's probably the only time you'll ever see me on here wearing (or trying to wear) a tie. I don't really do ties ... and it appears to show. I also have to admit that I was on tiptoe trying not to appear too embarrassingly short up against my boys. What is it about my hands though? Roam suggested that they look like giant claws!

I was supposed to be racing today but I managed to tweak my calf muscle on Thursday simply running across a road. That's been another contributory factor to my general grumpiness this last few days. I did still get out, though, for a very gentle run/jog/walk on the moor. I needed the space. After experiencing the wild mountains of Ireland last week it's been a little difficult to readjust to long days sitting at the desk.

This is actually a new landscape to me, albeit from a familiar viewpoint. Until a few weeks ago there were twin radio masts dominating this skyline. They've been there as long as I've known Ilkley Moor. And now they are gone. This shot here, taken at the end of August, is the only record that I think I have of them. For some reason (premonition perhaps?), I chose to blip that day as a record rather than try to be creative. I'm glad I did now.

Although a small transmitter remains, the difference to the landscape is amazing. It somehow feels far more expansive on the tops. And certainly wilder. This shot is taken looking due west and it's possible to get a feel for the size of this huge plateau of high moorland separating the Aire Valley to the south (left) and the Wharfe Valley to the north (right). It's strange to lose such a major landmark but it's definitely for the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.