Extreme

I'm on my own again and it's back to the grindstone, trying to get some urgent stuff done so tomorrow isn't too completely manic. It probably will be anyway.

Took another gentle run on the moor and the calf is no worse after yesterday's workout. I'm hoping now that I'll be able to run on it properly fairly soon. I was getting used to and rather enjoying the freedom of running without any niggles or weariness. I want to get that feeling back.

I stopped to watch Steve here as he was clearly attempting quite a hard route on the butt end of the Cow and Calf crags. It turned out to be an E9 - which is extremely extreme! He said it only gets climbed successfully once every two or three years. He peeled off a number of times while I was watching, then hung in his harness a while to take a rest before making another attempt. He's actually holding a toothbrush, which he was using to chalk some of the key holds for better grip. It's a matter of practising the moves in isolation and then, when each one is mastered, putting them altogether into one effort. I didn't hang around to see how far he got today. I suspect this was a reconnaissance mission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.