The Messy Room

By miketoons

Expectations surpassed

Wearing my new Shostakovich 4 T-shirt I travelled to Leyton, one of my favourite football grounds, for the game against 'my' team, Preston North End.

Leyton Orient are riding high at the top of League One and are strong favourites for promotion this season, so I would have been happy with a 0-0 draw and an away point. Amazingly, Preston (in their yellow kit) played really well and scored the only goal of the match just before half time, a fierce half volley from Joe Garner. The Preston fans were loud and proud and great jubilation ensured as the referee ended the match with North End the winners. It was the first defeat at home for the Orient since February and the first time they haven't scored in a match this season.

The game was topped and tailed by some fine real ales with good friends, first in the Leyton Orient Supporters' Club (which is in the Good Beer Guide) and afterwards at the Euston Tap. I also had a splendid lunch at Gym's Kitchen in Leyton, which I recommend.

A grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.