A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

Celbration Evening

It was a real blast from the past tonight!

It was Ria's GCSE Celebration Evening at the College & I was thrilled to be attending the show with Dad, Ma, Jenny, Ria, her friends & the rest of the Class of 2008. There was a packed out crowd in the school hall, watching live performances kick off the night from piano players, singers & bands. One of my English & Sixth Form teachers from the glory days, Mr William, the top teacher, was still brilliant, comedic & in fine bellowing form as he made a series of announcements & introductions.

The GCSE certificates were presented on stage to the students in their year form groups, one chap taking this as his cue to then, in true blip fashion, take a photo of the crowd as he stood slap bang in the middle of the stage. It was a very funny, nostalgic & proud evening.

My GCSE Celebration evening would have been... 7 years ago! Which is quite unbelievable really. I remember sitting with my friend Rob & our families at one of the tables, & it being almost identical to tonight. Lots of very fond memories. A great school. A very strange sensation walking down those corridors again. As a member of the Class of 2001, I left in 2008, narrowly missing a crossover at school with my sister, which is a bit of shame. No big brother bit at school for me!...well until tonight that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.