Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The sacred lake at Pushkar

We arrived in Pushkar today, in time to visit the lake in the afternoon. This lake is very sacred to the Hindus and is surrounded by 52 bathing ghats, where pilgrims immerse themselves in the water in an act of devotion. The Camel Fair will end with a big ceremony here and the lake will be seething with humanity.

It was quiet today. Some of us walked around the lake. Veronica and I were together and carried our shoes. Photography is not allowed everywhere and when someone shouted at me, I thought I had infringed the rules. It took a while for the penny to drop - I had put my shoes down in order to use the camera. I was forgiven, I think.

Here you can see some of the bathing pools and also a ceremony starting on the far bank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.