All Kinds Of Everything

Leftovers of the leftovers pie tonight, with leftover wine. Let me explain.... I wanted to make a minced beef and onion pie for dinner last night. The husband was craving the mechanically removed meat flavour of a Fray Bentos pie, which after 25 years out of the UK has attained mental gourmet status for him. So my pie contained the following: Leftover beef and vegetable soup that was made from the remains of last Friday's roast beef (prime rib), freshly sauteed mushrooms, onions and mince (ground beef), and finally some leftover sausage meat enhanced with shallots, garlic and sage that I found in the back of the fridgee, leftover from when I made sausage rolls for Bonfire Night. Oh yes, I tossed in an oxo as well. The end result was pretty close to Fray Bentos, so I'm told! Tonight we ate the other half of the pie. The pastry was even flakier and crispier with a second baking. We washed it down the with the second half of the bottle of 2013 George Duboeuf Beaujolais Nouveau that we celebrated Beaujolais Nouveau day with last night. Hope I don't get "food poisoning" ;) (Inside joke there!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.