The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Jay - Llanelli WWT

A rare days birding, an even rarer day at Llanelli Wetlands.

I got there in stunning late autumnal sunshine, and was greeted by one of the best birds to photograph you can get, a Song Thrush. I thought I had nailed today's blip immediately. But it just got better. A short walk around an area of the reserve I hadn't been around for ages gave me some low flying Buzzards, and this beautiful Jay sat in a tree picking off acorns.

The cloud rolled in the afternoon when I walked around the Millennium Walk. I sat in the Peter Scott hide for an hour or so, taking advantage of the good light when there was a break in the cloud covers. There was plenty of wildfowl to photograph.

I ended up with about ten photos all of which were good enough to grace this entry, but I settled on this corvid because it ended up being framed quite nicely in the branches.

A cracking day in the mid of a manic week!

All the other photos from the day can be seen in this Flickr group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.