West Coaster

By WestCoaster

The Road Goes Ever Onwards

I walked again, heading out on one of my favourite ambles along the river. As I walk here I am usually the only person around. Although I am alone I never feel lonely here, I always feel my friend, never above, never behind, always right beside me, I can close my eyes and know they are there, I know to many of you it will sound like I have lost a few more marbles but it is true. We were fortunate enough to share a few hours walking here on Easter Monday laughing like the children we were when we met a lifetime ago.

Friendships like ours come along once in a lifetime, and I cannot imagine how it would be not to have them as a part of my life. Despite the miles between us which drives me crazy we have something that has endured and will continue to ad infinitum...

There was just something about this shot as I came through the twisting bit of path that opens into this scene. The path forks back to our river but today as the branches hung over the path the shapes appealed to me, the burnished colour of the fallen needles from the trees providing a carpet laid out for me to enjoy. There wasn't a sound save for the distant swish of the waves as they gently stroked the foreshore, just the crunch of the frost beneath my boots.

I hope you enjoy this shot too, not the dramatic shadows of yesterday but something gentle and appealing... To my friend, we will walk here again very soon, talk and laugh, our inner children playing like we did so many years ago, close your eyes and walk with me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.