Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Definitely Not a Scottish Icon - 1

Popped into Delivinos in Crieff for a mid-afternoon snack because I'd missed lunch. I didn't want a glass of wine so took a quick glance at the drinks menu for something non-alcoholic. Bit of a surprise to see this! What's a nice Aussie soft drink doing in a place like Crieff??

Now, I'll be honest. Despite having been raised in Oz I'd never heard of Bundaberg drinks - but in those days, most of the states had their own breweries and soft drinks companies. In the west where I lived you drank Swan lager or Cottee's fizzy drinks. This Bundaberg stuff is from the eastern states and even if it was being manufactured at that time would have been highly unlikely to have made it the 2000 miles to the relatively small Western Australian market. It isn't an Aussie icon, so how it ended up in Crieff I don't know! However, I like that slightly retro labelling - it reminds of the Fentiman's brand here.

What I do know is that it most definitely isn't a Scottish icon!! There may be more of these 'not a Scottish icon' blips :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.