Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Shivering Baby

Poor Zippy.  All puffed up because it's been raining for two days.  We got 1.8 inches yesterday alone.  

Here's an amazing story.  I saw the feeder was low so I went out when the rain took a break.  I washed it with hot water and warmed the filtered water (only the best for my birds) that I use for the feeder in the microwave.

After I filled the jar with the warm sugar water, I took the feeder outside.  Before I even took my hand off the bottom of it as I hung it on the hook, Zippy landed on it and drank and drank and drank.  I stood there, nose to nose with this little bird, stunned.

Seeing him close up, in 3D and not through a lens was amazing.  he is the most beautiful creature I have ever seen.  His colors are astoundingly rich and they are more widespread than the camera has caught.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.