Life In Wales

By KarenC

Homeward Bound

And what another awful journey it was! Alison and I went to Paul's for breakfast - a French Patisserie, and while I was there I decided to check the internet for any earlier trains back to Brighton. There were no direct trains, and mine wasn't even on the list, so we decided to head to St Pancras early to find out what was going on.

I was told there were no trains from St Pancras, even though I'd booked a direct one, so I had to get the underground to Victoria where I could then get a train. Alison had to go to Euston so we went our separate ways, and luckily the tube to Victoria arrived within a minute. When I got there, I had a 30 minute wait for the train, or so I thought! It ended up being 'delayed' but it was delayed indefinitely, and the two previous trains had been cancelled due to a broken down train on the track.

After almost 30 minutes we were told to get the train to Gatwick and to get off at East Croydon where we could pick up our train. The train was packed, but luckily I got a seat, and when we got to East Croydon there was another 3o minute wait. Pokey Bagel kindly offered for me to go to her house nearby if Alan needed to come and collect me in the car, but fortunately the train finally arrived. It was a very slow journey, and I was very glad to eventually get home. Alison arrived back in Cheshire in the same time it took me to get an hour down the line!

Alan picked me up from the station and once home we walked to Ye Old Black Horse in Rottingdean for something to eat. We had a lovely Sunday roast and a bottle of wine, and are now relaxing in front of the TV. I'm supposed to be packing again, as tomorrow I head up North to look after Scarlett for the week, but I'll do it tomorrow morning before I leave.

Thanks for all your comments on yesterday's blip. I'll try and catch up with you tonight, but it'll be difficult to comment this coming week week as I'll have my hand's full! I'll try and keep up with you as best as I can - have a good week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.