November Challenge: Day 26 ....

Wild. White.

The day dawned very dull and dreary. And also cold. With rain and snow in the forecast.

With that in mind I knew I wasn't going to go very far (if anywhere!). And setting the camera up outside to capture some wildlife was out of the question.

So I put up a 'blind' in the front window, opened up the window and waited. As R had put out some corn and wild bird seed this morning I didn't have to wait long. I got some really cute photos of the squirrels eating the corn, but I liked this Junco sitting in our white birch tree better. And since I just posted a squirrel I went with this one.

I believe this to be a female junco as she is a paler gray than the males. Both sexes share basic similarities: plain gray head and breast; unstreaked gray, brown and white body with contrasting white belly; and white outer tail feathers that flash in flight. They may not be as showy as the cardinals or blue jays, but I still find them beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.