ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Misty Pines.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5+, ISO 400

We were woken this morning with the sound of raspberries being blown through our bedroom door. It was an unusual way to wake up! I opened the door and F came bouncing in, repeating "dance, bounce, dance, bounce" (he wanted us to put the clock radio on and have a dance/bounce on our bed)... He's so full of beans! We kept him entertained for a full hour with videos on the iPad (Bob the Builder and Magic Roundabout) and tickling, then M took him downstairs while I lay in bed a while longer. A got up and made us a fruit salad for breakfast which was so nice - it reminded me of our breakfasts in Cyprus.

After breakfast M and I headed back to Aberdeen briefly to meet with his sisters, who had bought us some vouchers for Nick Nairn's cook school for our engagement - I can't wait to use them! I know loads of people who have been on the courses and I've heard really good things. We decided to do something active for the afternoon so M drove us out to Bennachie for a walk in the mist (and it was extremely misty). I'd bought some new walking trousers and they made such a difference in comparison to walking in jeans or waterproofs. I could have skipped up (if I was a bit fitter)! When we got to the top we were literally in the clouds, and the water was condensing on M's eyelashes and hair like little silver beads. We made it up in 45 minutes which I think is the fastest we've managed so far, but we took it really easy on the way down with me stopping to take photographs of the numerous mushrooms growing everywhere, and ferns dripping with misty drops.

We popped past the supermarket on our way back into town, before heading straight to M's parents' house for a roast dinner. M's Mum had made lamb with roasted vegetables, cauliflower cheese and lots of gravy - mmmmh! We felt like we'd earned the right to eat lots, so we needed quite a while to recuperate on the sofa afterwards! After a lovely night just catching up with M's parents and grandparents, we pottered back up the road home and had a 'discussion' about what temperature to put the electric blanket on (I won, but only because the controls are on my side)! Feeling refreshed and ready to face the next week :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.