Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pope Francis

Meet Rosie the Riveter's beau, Francis, a male Gila (hee-la) Woodpecker.  

I was talking to my bug man when I looked out my back door and saw him land.  I wasn't wearing my glasses so I asked the kid if he had red on his head.  When he said yes, I ran to my camera which was already  set up on my tripod and started clicking away.

Poor kid.  Had to wait three minutes and 55 snapshots before he could get me to sign the invoice.  Ryan got back at me though.  Found termites when he went to spray around back.

It was only the second time I've seen Francis (so named because of his red cap) and the first time I've been able to catch him.  I was excited.

Zippy came up within three inches of my fingers to check out a piece of Twizzlers this afternoon.  I swear that bird can smell sugar from a mile away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.