Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

On Sacred Ground

Tonight I went to Hollywood Cemetery with a photo club I joined a few months back. We had special permission to go in as the cemetery was closing. This definitely ranks as one of the coolest experiences ever. There were about forty of us armed with cameras, tripods, and varied light sources (including flashlights, lanterns, strobes, and candles). This really forced me to think about creative lighting. Also, I spent a good deal of time teaching one of the guys who is new to photography about manual settings and different methods of lighting. It was awesome to watch him throughout the night as he caught on to the different concepts and began to propose new ideas. I will have to be sure to sign up for this trip if we do it again.

Lighting info: Coleman fluorescent lantern on camera right, light painting on front face of monument.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.