Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Thanks giving

I’m not the sort of dog who makes a mad dash for food and gobbles it up faster than you can say Jack Russell Terrier.

I like to take my time. I have a little ritual I do before I eat – I saunter in to the kitchen when Mom says “Breakfast, Liza!” or “Dinner time!” I circle around a few times, slowly, and sniff my food. I like to make contact with Mom – since I don’t have hands to hold, I just lean against her or sometimes I put my paw on her leg. She looks down at me and I look up at her, and that’s love. And gratitude. I want my moms to know that I appreciate how well they take care of me!

I heard them talk about Thanksgiving – that it’s a day to be grateful for what we have. So here’s my gratitude list:

~My moms.
~Moose.
~Scoots/walks.
~Good food that keeps me healthy.
~My friends Kendall and Emma and Rose and Betsy and Sheryl and and … just too many to name!
~My dog friends – Spike and Missy and Gort. (Even though I bark and bark at them!)
~Cozy beds to sleep on and blankets to snuggle under.
~Chew sticks and treats.
~Squirrels and cats to chase.
~Toddlers to play with (and clean up after).

So happy Thanksgiving to everyone - and your little dogs too! Ha ha ha !
--Liza Jane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.