MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Giving Thanks To Buglife

My plan was to photograph a flock of beautiful free-range bronze turkeys in the village in honour of Thanksgiving, until the post arrived at lunchtime.

Thank you Buglife for the calendar, which features my green shield bug Blipped earlier in the year. Thank you to the judges for awarding me third place in the photography competition. Thank you for my prize of a bug hunting walk with an entomologist at "a brownfield rainforest", SSSI Canvey Wick, next June. I'm really excited about the possibility of seeing and togging the unusual and endangered insects.

Buglife is the only organisation in Europe devoted to the conservation of all invertebrates. Sir David Attenborough has said, "If all the invertebrates were to disappear the world's ecosystem would collapse."

I have pictured the calendar hung on a wild dogwood bush which is showing gorgeous autumn colours. My bug is sitting on a dogberry.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.