Haytor Quarry

It was coming up to lunchtime and I decided to make a packed lunch up and take it with me up to the moor. I parked at Haytor and walked up to the quarry at the back. A lot of great rock's come out of this place. The original London Bridge (the one that's bee moved to Arizona) and countless major buildings in London and other cities where built of Haytor granite.

The quarry can be a quiet refuge even at busy times. Today with the wind getting up, I was able to sit out of the wind and eat my lunch. I'd noticed a couple of photographers up the other end so I sat down quietly out of their view. Once they'd gone, I moved around and took photos from the various places.It started to spit with rain at this point, which was why I was glad I'd taken my lunch with me. The rain soon increased and it was time to head back to the car I liked this one with the old machinery but there are a few more on Flickr.

Hope you've got a sheltered place somewhere.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.