misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

The first village church

This small building is no longer used as a church but was the first one in the Oxford Village (I think). There is a sign posted in front of it but it was way too cold to cross the street to confirm that piece of trivia for you.
It is a puritan-type of building and church that would have been used in the late 1700's. The clapboard church with the yellow door next to it is still in use. It has a wonderful pointy steeple. I would like to blip that on a blue-sky day. Very grey, cold, and snowy here all the time now.
We just celebrated the traditional Puritan-started holiday: thanksgiving. I did not take a photo of the marvelous spread yesterday. Take my word for it... everything was delicious. and FILLING. The first time I ever ate brined turkey. I got the recipe from the cook. The meat became exceptionally moist & tender... no blip could show that.
The brining is a two-day, rather expensive process which I would like to try on perhaps just the thigh and leg of the bird instead of the whole thing-- too much meat for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.