Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Time Warp

Song

Well, all plans to be good went out of the window this morning. Was all ready to go to the gym this morning when Rachel called round. Got distracted, someone suggested going to Ampthill and that part of me that prefers eating to exercise said yes and before I knew it, I'm sitting in the 'Cakestand and Crumb' listening to Andy Williams whilst eating ham & pickle sandwiches washed down with tea served in china cups that has to be poured through something called a 'strainer' to remove of all things, leaves!

Lucky the air raid siren didn't go off and we were able to step outside and back into the 21st century where Diana was compelled to buy a strange device with an adjustable aperture to measure spaghetti portions. How did they ever survive without such an essential gadget in the 40s? Did I say essential? I did point out to Diana that (a) I haven't eaten spaghetti in about 18 months (largely off carbs) and (b) it comes in different lengths anyway, so measuring the diameter of the bundle is hardly a foolproof strategy.

Called in at Rachel's on the way home and had tea and soda bread with jam (did I say I was off carbs? Must have been mistaken).

Then called in at Sue's and got served a roast chicken dinner with roast potatoes (more carbs - my body won't know what to do with them other than convert them to fat and store them on my waist!).

Finally got home at 7; 8 hours after leaving home for a brief trip out.

My sort of Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.