Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mocking

I took almost no pictures today, so not much to choose from. This was taken through the window this morning while I was chatting with my parents on the phone. Marilyn the Mockingbird is a daily visitor to the bird bath now. The Hermit Thrush also made an appearance this morning. I'm hoping the thrush is planning to winter here in our woods.

The rest of the day seemed to fly by without me really having much to show for it. Hubs and I went out for a late lunch and then a quick trip up to the Wallkill River National Wildlife Refuge visitors center where they are displaying the work of some local photographers (including three of my shots - yay!) The women who were working there said that this photom which I took in the spring of 2012, was a big crowd favorite. Kind of surprised me - although I really like the shot, I figured it was too "broody" to suit most people. I must say, though, it looked good matted and framed.

Picked up some fresh Italian Kale from the farm on the way home which I'll saute and serve with the Swiss Steak that is braising in the slow cooker. If you've never tried Italian/Tuscan Kale and can get your hands on some, I heartily recommend it. Much sweeter than regular kale and positively delicious!

I believe that the sharpie that was here last Wednesday may still be hanging around. I found evidence yesterday that a robin had met an untimely demise and the pile of feathers in the yard would suggest that it was plucked - something the neighbor's cats haven't yet mastered. All fingers/claws pointing to a hawk - either a sharp-shinned or a coopers since both are excellent bird-hunters. Also, all the feeder birds are acting very nervous - zooming into the nearby evergreen trees and shrubs at the slightest motion.

Time to go pour a glass of wine and toast the end of the weekend ... and the countdown to Christmas!

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.