Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blch!

A quiet day at home today - hubs working in the office while I alternated between putting up Christmas decorations and rushing outside to take pictures. It was cold, so my trips outside were short and involved scarves, gloves, hat and heavy coat. Pain in the ass, some might say - as for me, I'd say it was worth it.

I was all set to give you a shot of the Hermit Thrush (probably the same one that flew into the window last Sunday and had to be rescued) - I was so excited when it flew up to the bird bath while I was standing a mere 8 feet away! The closest I've ever been to one of these birds. Then Marilyn the Mockingbird stopped by - again, only 8 feet from me while she had a nice long drink and gave me the eye. There were also purple finches, which are always a treat to see, and all the rest of my favorite feeder birds. But when I saw this shot of the Downy Woodpecker, I burst out laughing and knew it was my shot for the day.

I mean, seriously, how could I not pick this one? I don't think I've ever seen so much of a woodpeckers tongue before! It is almost as if she's trying to compete with the hummingbirds. I have no idea what she was doing - maybe she didn't like that last bite of suet, or maybe she was trying to dislodge something. Or maybe she was just feeling funny. Who knows...

I posted the other four favorites from today starting HERE, with a close up look at Marilyn Mockingbird

Thanks for the kind comments on my shot of the Vanderbilt Estate yesterday. Definitely a place I would like to return to - when it's not so bloody cold! And next time, definitely a tripod.

Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend.

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.