Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...In the Holiday Spirit!

Yep, I'm getting in the spirit! I even decided to put up some decorations in the Bistro. A bit of holly, just to liven things up. The titmice were the first to show up and give my decorations a nod of approval - their only request is that there be food scattered amongst the decorations... hm, well, I think I can arrange for that.

Tomorrow my friend Kura is coming out from the City and we will go out to the local farm and get a our Christmas trees - she'll lug hers back to the City on Sunday; ours will be settled in the living room. Should be fun! We still have some snow on the ground from this week's snowfall, which will lend to the air of holiday spirit. The wine that we plan to consume won't hurt either. :)

A year ago today I blipped a Carolina Wren, one of my favorite backyard birds. Which reminds me that I haven't seen our wrens in a few weeks, although I hear them in the woods.

As the birds were enjoying the afternoon buffet at the Bistro, a hawk flew low overhead - little birds went flying in all directions, but the hawk never slowed down. I realize that I have been very, very lucky that all the bird activity in our yard hasn't yet attracted a hawk. Let's hope this good fortune continues...

I know you're all wondering what is going on with the pending Squirrel strike and I expect that I'll have some news tomorrow. One of the rascals was trying to hide from me today which was largely unsuccessful. Kind of hard to miss a big gray squirrel dangling from the deck railing from a distance of 8 feet... Just sayin'.

Thanks for being patient as I try to get caught up on journals and comments. I can't tell you how much I appreciate all of your lovely and kind comments over the last few days - I am actually a bit speechless. Most unusual for me!

xx00
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.