Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Has anyone seen my mojo?

I seem to be missing my mojo today...I looked everywhere for it and just can't seem to find it.

I thought the day was off to a promising start when I spotted the sharp-shinned hawk sitting on the cherry tree at 6:30 this morning, waiting for the Bistro to open. Tried a few shots through the window at 2500 ISO ... and they were utter crap, noisy beyond any acceptable level. And in case you are wondering, I went out and shooed him off so that the titmice and chickadees could get to the feeders.

Then later today I found a dead white-breasted nuthatch on the deck. It looks like he may have hit the window, which is odd given the location of it. Then again, if he was trying to escape a hawk, he may very well have flown into the wall or window at speed. I hate seeing dead creatures - just hate it. I wrapped the little guy up and disposed of him.

Then I saw a house finch with the avian conjunctivitis. My attempts to catch it were unsuccessful. The eye disease that finches are prone to is always fatal if untreated as they eventually lose their eye sight and are unable to avoid predation or find food. Pretty much sealing the suckiness of the afternoon.

Okay, Downer-Debbi is signing off now. Sorry to be such a blanket of gloom today. Tomorrow is sure to be a much better day ... two doctor's appointments in the same day...oh, be still my heart.

Really, I'm signing off now...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.