Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Am I boring you?

I was really hoping to see a Reddish Egret when I set out for Ft DeSoto today ... and usually when I go out with something specific in mind, it doesn't happen. So, after coming up egret-empty at the spot where I usually always see one, I was reconciled to blipping something else. In fact, I was busy taking pictures of a cormorant in the water trying to swallow a fish that was nearly as big as he was ... when I felt the strange sense that I wasn't alone...

...I slowly turned my head...and looked right into the eyes of an immature Reddish Egret, standing not 20 feet away from me! And, oddly, he seemed quite fascinated with me. He looked at me ... I took a bunch of shots...he started slowly (in that egret-way) walking towards me ... I took a bunch of shots ...he stopped to examine me...I took a bunch of shots...he turned his head as if to look out to see...and yawned! Yep, I took a bunch of shots. By the way, this image isn't cropped.

I posted eleven other pictures from today on Flickr, starting HERE if you'd care to have a look. Several other shots of the reddish egret, a snowy egret, the cormorant, some white pelicans and several shorebirds. A good afternoon!

And, only two more sleeps until Hubs is home.

I may try to get out to Circle B Bar tomorrow - I'll see how I feel about the drive when I get up. Wouldn't mind scoping out the alligators there ... as well as those amazing sandhill cranes. It's going to be another warm, sunny day tomorrow so I plan to enjoy it!

Hope you are all having a great week - thanks so much for the faves, stars and comments on yesterday's snoozing skimmer. That was, for me, a special shot, so thank you!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.