THE WAY A CHANCE APPEARS

and disappears as well.
It looked good this morning, the sky I mean, promising.
First I went to the pond, found the swans and other familiar birds. And there was a grebe with her child. I followed them, saw how they both dived and still at one moment the mother had a prey and gave it to the young one.
When I came back I mentioned that I had not been since long to the Solleveld. Why not go there tomorrow, Piet Hein said. I explained that I had an appointment with the hygiëne dentist. Why not go the day after? Wednesday I said, I'll will have my 1095th blip. And finally Piet Hein said: Why not go today?
I agreed instantly and we walked through the Ockenburgh park to the entrance of the Solleveld dunes. It is owned by Dunea, the water supplying company.
We took the extended path. After some time we walked parallel with the fence near the sea and Piet Hein said to me: shall we bend under the fence and go to the sea. I thought for a moment and agreed. Piet Hein walked towards the fence and at that moment I saw on the path the forester walking towards us.
We have a pas of course but it seemed not a good idea in view of him going under or over the fence.
So we had a conversation with him. First I asked if he had seen a fox, or foxes. He had not. The I told him we had not seen the horses, nor the cows, and only one rabbit. The forester told us that he was searching the horses and they probably were at the far end of the park.
But he told us where we could see a pike in a little water. When we came at that spot there was a man bending over looking at that big fish. But he said it was a carp. Even I could easily see it was a pike!!
As we walked further we heard a loud noise, and two swans appeared flying in the air, making a big circle around us. I did my best, honestly, and I was amazed how this chance had come to me, depending of so many little decisions, but although they circled two times even I cannot show a picture of those magnificent creatures.

My haiku:

Chances are best friends
Giving hope upon a change
I like it when it does

And the proverb:

Keur baart angst.

Translation: Choice causes fear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.