The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Swan upping

Or was it swan downing?

The mute swan must be the second most blipped bird, at least by European blippers. It's always difficult to find a new angle on familiar subjects, so this is an attempt to do that, a swan photographed from vertically above. It was a grey day in the Auld Grey Town, and at either end of today my walks with Gus were in the dark. I had a short walk along the river at lunchtime, hoping to stumble over an otter in broad daylight, it was just over a year ago that I was treated to 15 minutes of close encounters in the heart of the town. But I have not heard of sightings this year, so inevitably it was a forlorn hope.

Otherwise the day was rather like the weather, unremarkable. Which is maybe just as well after the excitement of yesterday. Thank you for the concern expressed, I'm fine.

A year ago was a morning of much better light, as was the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.