The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Shiny ship

Another backblip from the deep south, the view down the Test estuary with the Prince of Wales container port on the opposite side. The shiny ship had arrived sometime since Friday when I last visited.

My Dad is a night owl, and as a result I tend to stay up later than is usual. This in turn means getting up for the dawn is more of a challenge and after two days when I failed to get out in time to enjoy the morning frost and long shadows, I made an effort this morning.

As I was walking in, before this came into view, I met a tripod wielding photographer coming the other way. That always sets me thinking that I must be too late, I've missed the opportunity (this was my second stop, the first one was a bad choice for seeing the sun appear). But in the event, the light was still gorgeous, maybe I had missed the best, but this was good enough for me. It just needs a soundtrack of the wigeons whistling, the curlews bubbling, and the oystercatchers piping.

Apologies for another backblip....I didn't escape the office today (Tuesday) during daylight, work is just a bit too busy at the moment.

ps I've just noticed the year ago blip from the Halforth marshes, the quality of light on clear, frosty mornings is simply the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.