In my Cups

One on the downsides of being retired is undoubtedly meeting fewer people on a daily basis. I never fully realised, or appreciated perhaps, how lovely it is to have people around you to sound off to. Y'see today I have taken in an occasion wireless broadcast, which correctly enough, has given me thoughts which I must share. Must! That comes with the territory of being an opinionated loudmouth a respected cultural commentator.
And who will listen? Why, my captive blip audience (i.e. me, tomorrow)!
And what has been yanking your chain, dear Pensioner?
I'll biddy well tell you. BBC:The Crash That Shook Scotland. Really? Don't tell anyone that the people were out thronging Argyle St on Saturday morning doing the shopping as usual. What is this agenda which seeks to wipe away our old stoicism and replace it with acres of Lady bloody Di flowers and tears, and endless parades of ersatz heroes? To what end? To weaken our moral fibre!
And who would wish to do that, dear Pensioner?
Our enemies! Our enemies! Be strong, people! Be strong!

[there was a bit of silverware polishing in advance of this coming weekend's yachtee club partee]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.